A new low....

gmujim92

Hall of Famer
GIVING DAY 2023
Just read something about vcu fans buying up our "Early Bird Special" A10 tourney packages in the "Hate" thread and got curious.

After a little "expert sleuthing" -- OK, I simply went to their fan site -- I was nauseated to discover that this is indeed occurring. I thought I'd put it out here for anyone who doesn't usually click on the "Hate" thread.

Here's a link to the vcu thread if you'd like to feel sick too:

http://forums.vcuramnation.com/threads/the-a-10-tournament-ticket-thread.12789/

I don't know how anyone else feels about it, but I'm beyond pissed and embarrassed. Not surprised, given the events of the past four years, but supremely pissed.

I know many of us here have suffered through some very lean years with this basketball program. But I can't help but feel like this is a new low.

(Not being a computer expert, I'll ask anyone who knows: Wouldn't there have been some way for the ticket office to limit sales of the "early bird" tickets to only Mason fans?)

While I understand the university is trying to recoup its money -- I assume all schools are required to buy a minimum number of all-session packages -- and very few Mason people are going to want to pay for an all-session pass when we'll most likely be 1-and-done again, this situation just highlights (AGAIN) how quickly and thoroughly The Virus has taken our program into the toilet.

Remember, just four years ago, we had the LONGEST WINNING STREAK IN THE NATION, were ranked, earned an 8 seed and won an NCAA tournament game.

At this point, I hope vcu fans buy up every single "Early Bird" package ASAP and there aren't any left for the 3 Mason fans who actually want to go watch us lose in Brooklyn.

Might be a good thing for Edwards and Cabrera to take a long hard look at how fans respond to a winning program, so they can get off their asses and do what we all know needs to be done.

Last edited:

KAOriginal

All-American