2023-24 Women's Basketball

jessej

Starter
⭐️ Donor ⭐️
GIVING DAY 2023
Does anyone know what Non-Conference Schedule looks like?
On the UMD website there is a game vs GMU women for 12/3.
That is the only GMU Women's game that I have seen listed.

Edit 1:

Found this on the ESPN Site

Regular Season
DATEOPPONENTTIMETVTICKETS
Sun, Dec 3@ Maryland MarylandTBD
Sat, Dec 9@ Mount St. Mary's Mount St. Mary'sTBD
Mon, Dec 18@ East Carolina East CarolinaTBD
Fri, Dec 22@ Towson Towson
 

MasonFanatic

Moderator
Staff member
⭐️ Donor ⭐️
GIVING DAY 2023
Based on other schools' schedule releases (h/t Daniel Frank on Twitter):

Sun Nov 12 at W&M
Wed Nov 15 vs Pitt
Sun Nov 26 at Coppin State
 

MasonFanatic

Moderator
Staff member
⭐️ Donor ⭐️
GIVING DAY 2023
November 15th looks like a doubleheader, since the MBB game vs Cornell is scheduled for 7:30pm
 

mkaufman1

Administrator
Staff member
⭐️ Donor ⭐️
GIVING DAY 2023
Based on other schools' schedule releases (h/t Daniel Frank on Twitter):

Sun Nov 12 at W&M
Wed Nov 15 vs Pitt
Sun Nov 26 at Coppin State
I know nothing about women's basketball scheduling and know its not anywhere as "what benefits us" but the fact that they get a home game against an ACC school and play at a MEAC school is interesting.
 

MasonFanatic

Moderator
Staff member
⭐️ Donor ⭐️
GIVING DAY 2023
I know nothing about women's basketball scheduling and know its not anywhere as "what benefits us" but the fact that they get a home game against an ACC school and play at a MEAC school is interesting.
We have been able to reasonably consistently get H&Hs with ACC schools in WBB. This one is a return game from our visit to Pitt last season. Travel is a big thing, as is playing in locations with lots of recruits or alumni.
 
OP
jessej

jessej

Starter
⭐️ Donor ⭐️
GIVING DAY 2023
I know nothing about women's basketball scheduling and know its not anywhere as "what benefits us" but the fact that they get a home game against an ACC school and play at a MEAC school is interesting.
Defending National Champ LSU women will play at Coppin State in December. Angel Reese of LSU is from Baltimore and I imagine this is partly a payback for her and that Kim Mulkey will get access to whatever 5-Star players there are in the Greater Baltimore area.

VBL came from an HBCU so I expect that after she has "established a winning culture and record", there will be one game vs an HBCU - most likely MEAC - per season. I do not know if there are "buy games" in Women's College BBall, but a lot of the Men's HBCUs spend most of their out of conference games on the road playing for $25k to $95k per game which helps to fund their Athletic Departments.

Roster includes 2 incoming freshmen from Balitmore - the Coppin game is also likely a "recruiting presence and infrastructure game".

I was at last season's invited practice and team lunch and was told that Howard was to be on the schedule, but not for 2-3 years.

I wonder if the program is not "established" enough to get players from Paul VI?

I know nothing about women's basketball scheduling and know its not anywhere as "what benefits us" but the fact that they get a home game against an ACC school and play at a MEAC school is interesting.
Last season the women played at Pitt and hosted Coppin State and Maryland. Travel costs of the last 2 games is a bus ride.
 
OP
jessej

jessej

Starter
⭐️ Donor ⭐️
GIVING DAY 2023
if any of y'all "Still Got Game"

FzoMieIWcAEdmua
 

Pablo

Hall of Famer

"Head Coach Vanessa Blair-Lewis will then take her squad to her alma mater, Mount St. Mary's on Saturday, Dec. 9. The contest will mark the first time Blair-Lewis will coach against her former team."

2023-24 Non-Conference Schedule
Mon., Nov. 6 – Bowie State (2 p.m.)
Thur., Nov. 9 – Marshall (7 p.m.)

Sun., Nov. 12 – at William & Mary (1 p.m.)
Wed., Nov. 15 – Pittsburgh (4 p.m.)
Sat., Nov. 18 – Robert Morris (3 p.m.)

Wed., Nov. 22 – at American
Sun., Nov. 26 – at Coppin State (1 p.m.)
Sun., Dec. 3 – at Maryland
Sat., Dec. 9 – at Mount St. Mary's (1 p.m.)
Mon., Dec. 18 – at East Carolina (6 p.m.)
Fri., Dec. 22 – at Towson
 
Last edited:
OP
jessej

jessej

Starter
⭐️ Donor ⭐️
GIVING DAY 2023

"Head Coach Vanessa Blair-Lewis will then take her squad to her alma mater, Mount St. Mary's on Saturday, Dec. 9. The contest will mark the first time Blair-Lewis will coach against her former team."

2023-24 Non-Conference Schedule
Mon., Nov. 6 – Bowie State (2 p.m.)
Thur., Nov. 9 – Marshall (7 p.m.)

Sun., Nov. 12 – at William & Mary (1 p.m.)
Wed., Nov. 15 – Pittsburgh (4 p.m.)
Sat., Nov. 18 – Robert Morris (3 p.m.)

Wed., Nov. 22 – at American
Sun., Nov. 26 – at Coppin State (1 p.m.)
Sun., Dec. 3 – at Maryland
Sat., Dec. 9 – at Mount St. Mary's (1 p.m.)
Mon., Dec. 18 – at East Carolina (6 p.m.)
Fri., Dec. 22 – at Towson
opening game vs a Div II team
 

Pablo

Hall of Famer

2023-24 Atlantic 10 Conference Schedule
Tues., Dec. 5 – BYE
Sat., Dec. 30 – La Salle
Tues., Jan. 2 – at Rhode Island
Sun., Jan. 7 – at Duquesne
Wed., Jan. 10 – Davidson
Sat., Jan. 13 – BYE
Wed., Jan. 17 – Saint Louis
Sun., Jan. 21 – at Massachusetts
Wed., Jan. 24 – at George Washington
Sun., Jan. 28 – vcu
Wed., Jan. 31 – Fordham

Sat., Feb. 3 - at Loyola Chicago
Thur., Feb. 8 - Saint Joseph's
Sun., Feb. 11- at Dayton
Wed., Feb. 14 - at Davidson
Sat., Feb. 17 - George Washington
Wed., Feb. 21 - at St. Bonaventure
Sat., Feb. 24 - Richmond
Wed., Feb. 28 - Dayton

Sat. March, 2 - at vcu

Home games in bold
 
Top